10 Things I Hope to Leave in 2016

  1. My negative attitude. I try extremely hard to have a good attitude on a lot of things. A good chunk of the time I do, but I’m human so I have some hard times with this. I’m not saying that I’m going to instantly be able to shed this, but by the end of next year it would be nice to look back and see that I was more positive in 2017 vs 2016
  2. My bad habits. I have a laundry list of bad habits. From smoking ciggertres to over eating, I carry a lot more bad habits than good. I think 2017 might be the year that I actually stop smoking and get in shape. I like to think that I take good care of myself, but then I realize that I’m just making excuses for myself when I enduldge in my bad habits.
  3. My ex-friends with bennefits relationship. If you’ve read my post “Recovery is Beautiful” you’ll know what I’m talking about. For those of you who haven’t, I wish to leave one of the most toxic relationships in the past. I’ve said time and time again this year that I was done with the situation and with some (liquid) courage a few weeks ago I was able to finally cut him off. Here’s to hoping that he says in 2016 where he belongs
  4. My constant urge to help people. This one is a tough one, but I’m always trying to help. I get so consumed with the idea of helping my friends that it takes over me and I start neglecting myself. I’ve spent most of my teenage years neglecting myself so why carry it into my twenties?
  5. My poor study habits. This one is always on the list. I find myself slipping back into my old habits when it comes to college. However, this year I must have done something right because I got the highest GPA yet. Anyways, I hope in 2017 I don’t wait until the night before the exam to crack open my text book
  6. The hatered towards myself. I believe that it’s very important to love yourself, which is hilarious since most times I actually hate myself. It ranges from hating my body to my laugh to even the way I think. I’ve come long way since the teenage days, but I’ve noticed that there’s more hate than love towards myself. ( This is also a good excuse for me to pamper myself because self care is the best way to make yourself feel better)
  7. My lack of communication. Communication is key for any type of relationship to work. Most of my relationships in life are good and healthy. However, I have one hell of a time communicating my feelings to people. I’m one of those people that can be hyperventing from sobbing and still say “I’m fine” to someone just to avoid communicating my feelings. It’s exhausting keeping every time bottled up constantly.
  8. Using “hip lingo” all the time. For the love of all that is holy, I think I may punch myself in the face if I keep saying things like “it’s lit” or “fam”. HOW DID THIS HAPPEN??? It was cute the first couple hundred times I said it, but I’m almost a college graduate.
  9. My sailor mouth. See above. Except there was noting cute about me saying “fuck” especially in front of my grandparents. (Let’s be real, this is always on my list but it’s good to dream right?)
  10. Lessons learned. Overall, I hope that when I look back at this list a year from now I can proudly say that I have grown as a person and have learned from the mistakes that I had made in 2016. There was a lot of learning that was done on my part, but I am so thankful for it all.
Leave a Reply

